isaac's brain

Using obsidian as a thought organiser

Ive been using obsidian for probably a year now and it might just be my most used software ever.

Here are some reasons why I like it:

How Exactly I use obsidian:

I have a variety of specific folders:

  1. personal - This is the home of all personal notes like health, projects, problems and things that i'd prefer to keep private.
  2. knowledge - This is where I put more fleshed out knowledge which I really understand and is a part of me.
  3. resources - Resources like documents, studies and things of that sort that I want to keep go here.
  4. fleeting - This is where my random thoughts and ideas go. Usually, ideas will start off here and when I work through them more they can make it to knowledge.
  5. daily - This is the home of my daily notes.
  6. random - Random stuff.
  7. main - The homepage of my vault where I keep important links and ways to get around the vault.

I still use physical notebooks. Obsidian is a way for me to formalize my notes and ideas while still keeping some of the causal feel of notebooks. I can search through my notes and look back at previous daily notes.

Great program. Would recommend. 10/10